In Michigan, you no longer have to wear a motorcycle helmet while you ride your bike, but there are certain limitations. To legally not wear a helmet in Michigan, a motorcyclist must:
- Be at least 21 years old.
- Have at least $20,000 in first-party medical benefits.
- Have held a motorcycle endorsement for at least two years, or have passed an approved motorcycle safety course.
What states require you to wear a motorcycle helmet?
A helmet must be worn in the following states, and there are no exceptions:
Washington State, Oregon, Nevada, California, Nebraska, Missouri, Louisiana, Mississippi, Tennessee, Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, New Jersey, Vermont, and Massachusetts.
The Zuppke Law perspective.
Unlike the other attorneys advertising for automobile accidents, I’m a Harley rider. I personally know what it’s like to have distracted drivers trying to merge into you. I offer a compassion that other trial lawyers can’t. If you’ve been injured in a motorcycle accident, then Zuppke Law is your Michigan motorcycle accident law firm. Motorcycle accidents are very serious, they’re usually life threatening, and I feel that it’s my duty to fight on behalf of all riders in Michigan.
If you’ve been injured, then contact Zuppke Law today and get every last penny that you deserve. Our motto is simple: winning is the only option.